Archive | for your calendar RSS for this section

Septemberfest photos (and wine and cheese)!

 

Shadowrama

The Septemberfest team are having a cheese and wine evening and will be showing photos of this year’s Septemberfest, on Wed 2nd December from 7-8pm in Broughton High School seminar room.  See you there!

upcoming Parent Council meeting dates

17 Sep 2015 Thu Parent Council (PC) agm
26 Sep 2015 Sat Septermberfest 2015
30 Sep 2015 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
10 Oct 2015 Sat October holidays
20 Oct 2015 Tue
29 Oct 2015 Thu Management Support Group (MSG)
4 Nov 2015 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
25 Nov 2015 Wed Parent Council (PC)
2 Dec 2015 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
3 Dec 2015 Thu Management Support Group (MSG)
23 Dec 2015 Wed Christmas holidays
6 Jan 2016 Wed
6 Jan 2016 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
28 Jan 2016 Thu Management Support Group (MSG)
3 Feb 2016 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
13 Feb 2016 Sat February holidays
21 Feb 2016 Sun
2 Mar 2016 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
9 Mar 2016 Wed Parent Council (PC)
23 Mar 2016 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
25 Mar 2016 Fri Easter holidays
10 Apr 2016 Sun
27 Apr 2016 Wed Management Support Group (MSG)
4 May 2016 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
1 Jun 2016 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
8 Jun 2016 Wed Parent Council (PC)
1 Jul 2016 Fri summer holidays
16 Aug 2016 Tue
31 Aug 2016 Wed Management Support Group (MSG)
7 Sep 2016 Wed Broughton High School Association (BHSA)
24 Sep 2016 Sat Septermberfest 2016
28 Sep 2016 Wed Parent Council (PC) agm

Calling All Pipers! Schools Championships Coming Up!

Are you a piper? Do you have three friends at Broughton who pipe too? Then make a quartet and represent your school at the Scottish Schools Pipe Band Championships on March 13th!

The event is being held at Broughton, and as host school we really ought to field a competitive quartet of our own!

It’s a big event, too. Last year over a hundred schools from Scotland and England came, and competed in a host of categories. There’s even a new category, the freestyle section, where your pipes play alongside other mixed instruments!  Watch freestyle expert and ex-BHS/EMS pupil Martyn Bennett wow ‘em in Glasgow:

 

Please give it some thought.  Need funds to get started? There may be a bit of grant money to help.  And when you’ve dusted off your brave pipes, get in touch with us at the Parent Council (intouch@broughtonhighpc.org)!

Yours, aye …

Parent and Carer Support and Information Sessions from Edinburgh Council

council logo

Following a successful initial session last term, we’re happy to announce a new round of Parent and Carer Support and Information Sessions on Young People’s Emotional Wellbeing and Mental Health issues.  Click here to learn more.  These session have been planned with the support of CAHMS and other relevant organisations.

The sessions will each have a different topic focus. There will also be an opportunity for parents who wish more information or are concerned about their teenager’s emotional wellbeing or mental health to meet other parents and supportive professionals in a safe relaxed environment. Parents and carers of 11-18 year olds from across the city are welcome to attend any of the sessions.

Please e-mail Jillian.Hart@edinburgh.gov.uk if you wish to come along.

Here’s the schedule of times, places, and topics:

Wednesday 9th September 2015, Leith Academy, 6.30-8.30pm

-Self Harm

Thursday 1st October 2015, Drumbrae Library, 6.30-8.30pm

-Anxiety and Depression

Thursday 29th October 2015, Tollcross Community Centre, 6.30-8.30pm

-Stress and the Teenage Brain

Thursday 3rd December 2015, Gate 55, 6.30-8.30pm

-Self Harm

17 September: Come meet other parents!

meeting group

On Thursday, 17 September, at 6pm, there will be an opportunity to meet fellow parents and carers informally over drinks and nibbles and to find out more about the school, exams and the parent council.  .
 
For those who have time to stay, this will be followed at 6.30pm by a presentation by Susan Bennett, deputy head, on the school’s most recent exam results and trends over the last few years, and the parent council’s annual general meeting.

Live table of university open days and application deadlines

hot off the press

Here is a live table of open days and application deadline for a selection of universities across the UK. Please feel free to share this with interested students. Suggestions (and relevant data) for more universities are welcome.

Annual conference of the National Parent Forum of Scotland

national parent forum logo

The National Parent Forum of Scotland are delighted to announce that this year’s conference will be held on Saturday 14th November at the University of Strathclyde Technology and Innovation Centre in central Glasgow. The theme of the conference will be attainment and achieving from a parental perspective. The conference is completely free to attend and all are welcome. They are keen to get as many parents along as possible, so please spread this information widely!

On the day there will be a keynote speech and Q&A session, along with full agenda of seminars and workshops run by leading figures in education, and an exciting kids’ programme, including a creche.

Further details and information on how to book a place will be available shortly. In the meantime, please register interest by emailing conference@npfs.org.uk

%d bloggers like this: